Esme’s Wish

October 30, 2017
Votes: 1
Audience Young Adult
Word Count 60-80k (average/short)

Editing, Production, Marketing & Sales

Edited by Michelle Lovi
Cover design by Furea
Published Through Odyssey Books

The Rundown

Esme saw her last chance of keeping her family together on her father’s wedding day, but everyone waved her actions off as that of an spoiled child not getting what she wants. Besides, it has been several years since the disappearance of her mom. It was high time to move on. And yet, Esme just can’t. After bumping into events she couldn’t quite explain and a peculiar note that may just be a clue to her mother’s disappearance, Esme literally dove into a whole new world filled with magic and orange dragons.

ESME’S WISH is heartwarming and beautifully whimsical, much like the fantastical world of Aeoila and the shimmering city of Esperance. We are introduced to an enchanting world rich with history and magic; and with the author’s excellent prose, it makes for an incredibly atmospheric reading experience.

All the characters are fully developed, especially the titular character and the story’s protagonist, Esme, who has grown realistically throughout the book – from that wedding day opening to the fulfilling conclusion that teases the reader of more and greater travels all over Aeolia. The plot reminded me of the timeless children’s books such as “The Chronicles of Narnia” and “Harry Potter”, but it lacked much of the action-packed adventure that these stories possess. (Although, the characters still have some adventure). Instead, the novel focused more on Esme’s coming of age and growth. We witness her determination and unending hopefulness to find her mom as the story progresses. There is no romance explicitly shown, and this is because Esme is knee-deep in the business of learning how to create strong friendships.

The climax of the story, however, felt a bit rushed and the antagonist was one of those classic villains making their move quite predictable.

Overall, though, this is a story about family, self-acceptance, and the immense measures one would take for the people they love. An exciting introduction to the series, this is a great book for younger teens (and youngs-at-heart) who love to dive into a magical world filled with wondrous creatures and adventures.


The Recommendation

For fans of “The Chronicles of Narnia” and “Harry Potter”, you will find something enjoyable to read in this book. But with more focus on the protagonist’s personal growth, her family and an emphasis on her introduction to the enchanting world of Aeolia, this is a more heartwarming and whimsical story young fantasy readers will surely love.


The Rating Selected as a Top Pick!

Top Pick! 5 Stars (out of five): Freaking amazing. Any agent or publishing house that passed this one up made a big mistake. It was selected by our reviewer as a personal favorite. This is also a nomination for our Novel of the Year award.

The Pros & Cons

Pros: Believable, Characterization, Prose, Strong World-Building
Cons: Character Developement, Plotline

The Reviewer

Kate Ashley

Kate is a twenty-something blogger and all around fangirl. In her free time, she likes to read all kinds of books, sketch and paint, or write on her blog, All the Trinkets. She is passionate in supporting everyone who deserves supporting and she does not shy away from sharing the things she loves.

Visit Kate Ashley‘s website.

Author’s Summary

When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver sets out to search for her missing mother, Ariane, she is transported to the alternate realm of Aeolia: a world enchanted by the gods, and steeped with myth and magic. With her newfound friends, Daniel and Lillian, Esme retraces her mother’s steps in the glittering canal city of Esperance, untangling the threads of Ariane’s double life. But the more Esme discovers about her mother, the more she questions whether she really knew her at all.

With themes of friendship, loyalty, and loss, Esme’s Wish is a whimsical tale for younger teens, or anyone who enjoys being swept into another world.

Excerpt:

Lillian handed back the compendium. The illustration on the front cover depicted a glistening bead of water, suspended in the air. Within it spun islands, people and fantastical creatures.

‘That’s from the legend of Aeolia’s creation,’ said Lillian running her hand over the cover. ‘Everything in our world – Esperance, the islands, the magic – is said to have flowed from one enchanted drop of water.’

Short Description

Suspicious of the real reason for her mother’s disappearance Esme Silver goes searching for clues in the enchanted world of Aeolia. In her quest for answers she learns much about herself and the value of friendship and family.

Catchphrase

Mystery, myth, magic and a touch of Venetian dreaminess all feature in this whimsical fantasy tale.

Additional Links

Visit the Official Website
Find it on Goodreads
Like it on Facebook

Awards and Notable Endorsements


Winner – Purple Dragonfly Book Awards

2018 Purple Dragonfly Book Awards. First place, Science Fiction/Fantasy.

– posted by Elizabeth Foster    
Endorsement by multiple award-winning author Wendy Orr.

"A fresh new fantasy of an enchanting world." - Wendy Orr, author of Nim's Island and Dragonfly Song

– posted by Elizabeth Foster    
This book is currently featured! Learn more

You might also like...